Bicclescombe Park is Ilfracombe’s premier park and lies approximately one mile south of the town centre. The park is sited in a valley which provides a sheltered and often sunny environment.
It was formally opened on 2 January 1911 as Bicclescombe Park Pleasure Gardens. Extended in 1937 it has housed over the years a bowling green, a putting green and a pets corner. The mill is believed to date from the late 18th century and was sold to Ilfracombe Urban District Council in 1933. Sadly it was neglected and fell into a state of disrepair. Ilfracombe Rotary Club took on the task of restoring the mill and the mill machinery was almost completely remade.
The Wilderbrook stream runs through this beautiful park and splits into three flows feeding the Boat Lake, Duck Pond and the Mill Leat which powers the Mill Wheel. The park boasts formally planted flower displays, evergreen and flowering shrubberies and a wide variety of tree species. Also within the park there are several tennis courts, a large children’s play area, a sensory garden and the Old Mill House and Tea Rooms.
The park including the sensory garden and children’s play area is always open. Old Mill House and Tea Rooms, run by volunters, open depending on demand and weather.